Skip to Content  |   A to Z Index  |   Kentfield Campus  |   Indian Valley Campus

College of Marin Planning, Research, and Institutional Effectiveness
Home New Students - Prospective Students Current Students of College of Marin Colletge of Marin Faculty and Staff About the College of Marin College of Marin Search Engine

Research Advisory Group

Research Advisory Group

Background

The needs for establishing the Research Advisory Group (RAG) are as follows:

  1. Educational Master Plan recommendation(s)--College System #4: Using the college's collaborative processes, develop a research agenda that addresses student learning.
  2. Educational Master Plan recommendation(s)--Community Responsiveness #3: Include the assessment of local business/industry needs in the annual research agenda.
  3. Integrated Planning Manual Revised 2010, Annual Research Agenda: It is essential for the college to establish an annual research agenda that is focused on student learning and supports the various components of integrated planning.
  4. ACCJC Recommendation # 4: In order to meet standards, the team recommends that the college strengthen the role of research through a broad institutional dialogue and critical analysis of research data, especially in light of the changing student demographics. Institutional efforts should focus on providing information based on statistical data and communicating it widely to all appropriate constituencies in order to improve institutional effectiveness.

Purpose of RAG

Research is the centerpiece of the College of Marin Integrated Planning Model. As depicted in the graphic in this manual, data drives the key components of the process: the mission, the Educational Master Plan, the strategic plans, program reviews, the outcome assessments, and progress on both the college goals as well as the planning process itself.

Given this central role, it is essential for the college to establish an annual research agenda that is focused on student learning and supports the various components of integrated planning.

Tasks and Responsibilities

Short-term goal

  1. Develop research agenda that addresses student learning by working with Program Review Committee and Student Learning Outcome Committee
  2. Monitor the progress of the research agenda
  3. Establish standardized definitions of key terms such as retention and success
  4. Monitor the Institutional Effectiveness System. (Short-term goal is to monitor comprehensive student success results and effective data communication)
  5. Present  annual progress report to College Council

Long-term goal

  1. Monitor external changes/environmental scan (i.e., state economy, demographics, ...)--every 3 years.
  2. Monitor college level data (i.e., internal factors, demographics, student success college level, ...)
  3. Make recommendations to PRAC

Meeting Dates for 2010-2011 and 2011-2012

Meeting Location time Agenda & Minutes Support Document(s)
Friday, August 27, 2010 AC 108 10-11AM

pdficon  (8/27/2010)

pdficon Integrated Planning Model
pdficon Integrated Planning Model with Committee Name
pdficon Institutional Effectiveness System

Friday, September 24, 2010 AC 108 10-11AM pdficon  (9/24/2010)  
Friday, October 29, 2010 AC 108 10-11AM Cancelled  
No November meeting     No November meeting  
Friday, December 3, 2010 AC 108 10-11AM

Cancelled

 

pdficon Communication about research priorities.
pdficon Research priorities draft
pdficon Research priorities established (Final)
pdficon Dashboard Development Plan draft

Friday, January 28, 2011    

Meeting format changed from face-to-face to email communication because of lack of members attending meetings.
pdficon Dashboard Development Plan (Final)

February 10, 2011    

-Course success results

pdficon Original questions about the course success results
pdficon Dialogue about the results (updated 3/31/0211)
March 3, 2011    

 

pdficon ACCJC Follow-Up Report Plan (3/3/2011, revised 3/9/2011)
pdficon Initial email about Recommendation #4 (3/4/2011)

March 15, 2011       pdficon Possible actions for Recommendation #4 (3/15/2011)
March 21, 2011       pdficon Follow Up on possible actions for Recommendation #4 (3/21/2011)
pdficon Dialogue about the possible actions for Recommendation #4 (3/25/2011)
March 24, 2011      

pdficon Presentation and institutional dialogue of the ARCC 2011 Report (3/24/2011)
pdficon ARCC 2011 Report and pdficon Notes (3/25/2011)

April 18, 2011 AC 108

2-3p
3-4p

Meeting agenda

Meeting Notes

1. ACCJC Recommendation #4
2. Fact Book--Data Nuggets
3. Integrated Planning Model
4. New Accreditation Manual (MANUAL FOR INSTITUTIONAL
SELF EVALUATION, March 2011)
5. Data dialogue
6. Dashboard

         
August 12, 2011 AC 108 12-1p Meeting agenda
Meeting Notes
  1. Lunch
  2. President Coon
  3. Review RAG role, Research agenda, Next meeting
  4. Dashboard
  5. ACCJC Rubrics
  6. Planning processes surveys results--possible actions
September 26, 2011 AC 108 9:30 to 10:30am

Meeting agenda and notes

October 27, 2011      
October 25, 2011       PRIE Priorities and Goals based on Dr. Coon's Priorities and Goals (DRAFT, 10/25/2011)

Group Members for 2010-2011

Name Position Email Extension
Chialin Hsieh Director of Planning, Research, and Institutional Effectiveness (PRIE) chialin.hsieh@marin.edu 7545
Ken Meier Vice President, Student Learning ken.meier@marin.edu 7505
Sara McKinnon Academic Senate President sara.mckinnon@marin.edu 7924
Yolanda Bellisimo Faculty, Political Science; SLO Coordinator yolanda.bellisimo@marin.edu 7446
Blaze Woodlief Faculty, English, ESL blaze.woodlief@marin.edu 7647
Jim Arnold Dean, Math & Sciences jim.arnold@marin.edu 7506
Erik Dunmire Faculty, Physical Sciences erik.dunmire@marin.edu

7536

Kathleen Kirkpatrick Staff and Program Administrator (PRIE) kathleen.kirkpatrick@marin.edu 7344
Melody Creel Research Analyst (PRIE)

melody.creel@marin.edu

7563
Barbara David Administrative Assistant (PRIE) barbara.david@marin.edu 7570
Linda Beam (3/1/2011) Executive Dean of Human Resources linda.beam@marin.edu 7504
Peggy Isozaki (3/1/2011) Director of Fiscal Services peggy.isozaki@marin.edu 8160
Cathy Summa-Wolfe (3/1/2011) Director of Communications and Community Relations cathy.summawolfe@marin.edu 7258
Melinda Molly (3/1/2011) Administrative Assistant to the President melinda.molly@marin.edu 7508

back to top