Skip to Content  |   A to Z Index  |   Kentfield Campus  |   Indian Valley Campus

College of Marin
News Release
Home New Students - Prospective Students Current Students of College of Marin Colletge of Marin Faculty and Staff About the College of Marin College of Marin Search Engine

News Contact:
Cathy Summa-Wolfe
, Executive Director
Communications, Community Relations, and Advancement

Music from Marin Summer Festival—Free Admission

Music from Marin Summer Festival
Dance Palace, Pt. Reyes Station
June 15, 22, & 29 at 7:30 p.m.
FREE admission/FREE parking

Music from Marin Summer Festival is dedicated to bringing the finest in chamber music and chamber opera to venues throughout Marin County. The festival is directed by pianist (and KWMR Classical Wednesday host) Paul Smith. The Dance Palace in Pt. Reyes Station plays host on the last three Sundays in June, and admission is FREE.

Three 70-minute concerts presenting world-class performances in an intimate atmosphere.

Sunday, June 15 at 7:30 p.m. — Three for Piano and Strings
Paul Smith, piano with the Tamalpais String Quartet
Three seldom heard masterpieces for piano and strings including Vincenz Lachner’s arrangement of the Beethoven piano concerto no. 3 for piano and string quartet
Aulis Sallinen - Introduction and Tango Overture
Ludwig van Beethoven - Piano Concerto no. 3 in c minor (arranged for piano and string quartet)
Camille Saint-Saens - Wedding Cake Waltz

Sunday, June 22 at 7:30 p.m.— Tamalpais String Quartet
Candy Sanderson & Susannah Barley-violins
Meg Eldridge-viola / Anne Lerner-Wright-violoncello
This Marin based string quartet is dedicated to the performance of masterpieces of the quartet literature and rediscovered gems.
Erwin Schulhoff - Tango
Ludwig van Beethoven - String Quartet opus 59, no. 3 (Razumovsky)
Antonin Dvorak - String Quartet opus 96 (American)

Sunday, June 29 at 7:30 p.m.— Piano duo Valeria SZERVANSZKY / Ronald CAVAYE
The renowned London based piano duo returns to Marin for a rare performance of Igor Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring in its original version for piano four hands. The evening opens with transcriptions of JS Bach by the living Hungarian composer Gyorgy Kurtag.
J.S. Bach arr. Gyorgy Kurtag - transcriptions for piano four hands
Igor Stravinsky - Rite of Spring (original version for piano four hands)

back to top